Learning from the Tyrants 27

“Go that way, past the viaduct, and the wops will jump you, or chase you into Jew town…Polacks would stomp on you…Micks will shower you with Irish confetti from the brickyards.” -Mike Royko

_____

I have lived in a far northern province of the Empire most of my life. Alaska. Lived in Seattle for two years late 90’s, two winters in Phoenix. Have driven all over the west half of the country, but never been west of Denver. Never been over seas, except to Hawaii a few times. My perspective of the USA is skewed from lack of proximity.

_____

“It’s been my policy to view the Internet not as an ‘information highway,’ but as an electronic asylum filled with babbling loonies.” -Mike Royko

_____

I read his columns in the 80’s in my local paper. This was before it was bought by a news corporation. Now it has been sold to a local billionaire family, and consists of the typical  establishment gruel. That leaves the internet as a news source. Thankfully the new independent web sites are starting to get off the ground.

https://theconservativetreehouse.com/

 

“Forty years ago, we were on the tail of the Front Page era. There was a different point of view. Reporters and editors were more forgiving of public people. They didn’t think they had to stick someone in jail to make a career.” -Mike Royko
_____
It has gone a bit down hill recently.  So I grew up reading brilliant writers, discussing topics with out a politically correct veneer. Things have changed. Still good writers out there. This cranky old guy can write.
But he lacks Royko’s humility, his touch with the common man.  Perhaps there is someone on Twitter who can quip.  Quip like this…
“It is absurd to divide people into good and bad. People are either charming or tedious.” -Oscar Wilde
 _____
Let’s do a search, Twitter quotes as good as Oscar Wilde. Not happening, so went with clever Twitter accounts. This lady is close. To Fernando Pessoa that is.
Going to keep trying.
She is really good.
And here we are. Lot of people I meet say I am exactly like this guy. It is true. I am his lost twin brother.
Well thats odd, mostly comments on sports.
Well, looked at a lot, no one comes close to Oscar.
 _____
“This wallpaper is dreadful, one of us will have to go.”  –Oscar Wilde
_____
Really sad that I could not find another Wilde on Twitter. Takes a bit of effort to search. My layabout brain is not good for any original thought. What a deadbeat organ. Can’t even help me spell. Computer has to do that work for it. Dan eht aixelsyd!
Dog sleeping on the floor.That is my mind. Up you lazy mutt!  Muttering mind mutt, that is what I got now. Roused and tousled. Grating with some grievance. As if I care. Better find a quote to bail some brain ballast. Angry intellect!
_____
“Napoleon built his campaigns of iron and when one piece broke the whole structure collapsed. I made my campaigns using rope, and if a piece broke I tied a knot”  – Arthur Wellesley
_____
Ted has built his campaign on cunning logic, Trump is flexible.
Leave a Reply

